Members Login

2016 Gold Medal Award

Submission Deadline: October 19, 2015

Guidelines for Nominations:

  • The Gold Medal is to be awarded in recognition of unusually distinguished service or contributions to the Association of University Radiologists, academic radiology, or the field of radiology in general.
  • Nomination of an individual for the Gold Medal can be accomplished by a letter from a member of the AUR provided two seconding letters of that nomination are received from other members of the Association.
  • Gold Medal nominations will be retained for three years. After that period of time, any nominee not having been awarded the Gold Medal will have to be re-nominated according to Guideline 2 above.
  • Gold Medals will not be awarded posthumously except in the instance when the nominee’s demise occurs in the interval between the time of selection as a Gold Medalist and the annual meeting at which the Medal was to have been awarded.
  • Gold Medalists will be invited to the annual meeting to receive the award in person. They will receive complimentary registration for that meeting as well as travel and lodging in the headquarters hotel.

Forward nominations to:
Jocelyn D. Chertoff, MD, MS
Chair, Gold Medal Award Committee
Association of University Radiologists
820 Jorie Boulevard
Oak Brook, IL 60523

Or electronically to  

2015 Award Recipient   2015 Award Recipient

 Kimberly E. Applegate, MD, MS

Kimberly E. Applegate, MD, MS


 Robert A. Novelline, MD

Robert A. Novelline, MD

Past AUR Gold Medal Award Recipients

2014:     Jannette Collins

2014:     Vijay M. Rao

2013:     Ronald L. Arenson

2012:     N. Reed Dunnick; Beverly P. Wood

2011:     G. Scott Gazelle; Gary M. Glazer*

2010:     Etta D. Pisano; James H. Thrall

2009:     Ella A. Kazerooni; Daniel C. Sullivan

2008:     Laurie L. Fajardo; David C. Levin

2007:     Hedvig Hricak; Robert F. Mattrey

2006:     Wilbur L. Smith, Jr; Kay H. Vydareny

2005:     Philip O. Alderson; Bruce J. Hillman

2004:     Steven E. Seltzer

2003:     Stanley Baum; A. Everette James, Jr.

2002:     John R. Thornbury; Albert A. Moss

2001:     Edmund A. Franken; William M. Thompson

2000:     Arvin E. Robinson; Lee F. Rogers

1999:     Jerome H. Arndt; Robert W. Holden

1998:     B. Leonard Holman*; James H. Scatliff

1997:     C. Douglas Maynard; James E. Youker

1996:     Ronald G. Evens; Thomas S. Harle

1995:     David G. Bragg; George R. Leopold

1994:     John A. Kirkpatrick*; Nancy O. Whitley*

1993:     Melvyn H. Schreiber; Frederic N. Silverman

1992:     Malcolm D. Jones*

1991:     John F. Holt*; Charles E. Putman*

1990:     John A. Campbell*; John H. Juhl*

1989:     Eugene C. Klatte; Joseph E. Whitley*

1988:     M. Paul Capp

1987:     Alexander Gottschalk*; Henry H. Jones*

1986:     Harry Z. Mellins*; Lucy Frank Squire*

1985:     Byron G. Brogdon*; Juan M. Taveras*

1984:     Herbert L. Abrams; Richard H. Greenspan*

1983:     Robert N. Cooley*;Melvin M. Figley*

1982:     Harold G. Jacobson*; Alexander R. Margulis

1981:     Harry W. Fischer*; Harvey Picker*; Elliott C. Lasser; Jean Picker*

1980:     Robert D. Moseley, Jr.*; Sidney W. Nelson*

1979:     Henry S. Kaplan*; Russell H. Morgan*; William B. Seaman*

1978:     Paul C. Hodges*; Hugh M. Wilson*

* Deceased